Home>Travel Guide>Wuhan>Wuhan Travel Overview

Wuhan Travel Overview

Wuhan is situated in the middle of Hubei Province, and the intersection of the middle reaches of the Yangtze River. Wuhan City is divided by the Yangtze and Hanshui River into three parts: Hankou, Hanyang and Wuchang, which are generally known as Wuhan's Three Towns.


Wuhan, the capital of Hubei Province, serves as the political, economic and cultural center of the province. This biggest metropolis in hinterland China was reputed as a River City. With an area of 8494 square kilometers and a population of 8.58 million, Wuhan represents the culture and development of Hubei province.


As a typical garden city, Wuhan is home to hundreds of hills and nearly 200 lakes of various sizes. With a water area making up 25.8% of its entire territory, Wuhan is ranked the first among major Chinese cities in water resources. East Lake, China's biggest downtown lake, covers an area of 73 square kilometers.


With a history of 3500 years, Wuhan's urban civilization dates back to Panlong Town which is the oldest city ever unearthed in the Yangtze River basin. Scholars believe it a breakthrough proof of the fusion of Yangtze Civilization and Yellow River Civilization. Over the past thousand of year, thanks to its well-developed transport network and abundant local products, this area has always been a land of milk and honey. And Wuhan has gradually developed into a regional political, commercial and trade center. Thus Wuhan possesses an advantage and characteristic of diverse cultures.

China Top Tours
Quick Inquiry
  • Full Name:
  • Email:
  • Tell us your idea: